Tenali Raman: My grandma and the stories that I grew up with


Tenali Raman: My grandma and the stories that I grew up with

I was remembering and missing my grandmother a lot today. When I was a little kid, she used to tell me amazing stories of Tenali Raman.

No wonder I found myself doodling Tenali’s caricatures from different sites online and old comic books at 3:00 am today morning as I was reminiscing few of the stories narrated to me by my grandma.

Tenali Raman doodle
Tenali Raman doodles at 3:00 am 

For those of you who would like to familiarize with the name, well, Tenali Ramakrishna was a legendary Vikatakavi (jester poet), known as the ‘Ashtadiggajas‘, the eight scholars during the reign of emperor Krishnadevaraya at Vijayanagara during 1509–1529 in India.

Tenali was famous for his brilliance, knowledge, expertise in different topics and various fields. At the same time, his stories that describe his journey, experience and most importantly his way of dealing with aspects of life, quick decision making process etc were truly remarkable.

Tenali Ramakrishna’s great work Panduranga Mahatmyam is a Kāvya of high merit, remarkable for its sonorous dignity of phrasing, and is counted as one of the Pañcha Mahā Kāviyas (the Five Great Kavyas) of Telugu literature.

He was specially known for his intellect, wit, timing and strategic decision making processes.

Have you heard of this legendary man?

Have you read any of his poems, literature or even comic books, old folk tale stories?

If yes, do share your wonderful memories of the same with me.

Would love to hear from you.

Have a wonderful long weekend and wishing all my dear friends a

Very HAPPY INDEPENDENCE Day

(tomorrow on 15th August 2016)

Jai Hind!

Be Well

Ananth V

Tenali Wiki

Leave a Reply

