513 Kms in 5 months – Success and Failure: Life, Running, Entrepreneurship


513 Kms in 5 months – Success and Failure: Life, Running, Entrepreneurship

Fitness Running Endurance Health Mindfulness Ananth V
Fitness Running Endurance Health Mindfulness

I just completed 500 Kms of running in 5 months.

Fitness Running Endurance Health Mindfulness Ananth V 500 Kms

I had started this journey of running few years ago during which I ran 1,000 Kms in 2014 followed by 1,000 Kms in 2015. I ran a couple of 21 Km runs and lots of 10 Kms during these years. (Read the complete article here: What Marathon Taught me about Entrepreneurship)
After 2015, I completely stopped and it was involuntarily discontinued. The sudden change then took a toll on my body. I was getting more lethargic, my diet, routine, fitness levels had gone for a toss. Then finally, I made a conscious decision to take up running again.

For me, running is more about: Mindfulness.

In other words, it’s about being able to unwind, relax, let go of the thoughts that cloud our day, be it work, personal life etc

 

Of course, running regularly, helps us build:

  • Discipline
  • Focus
  • Clarity of Goals
  • Fitness and Health

and that coupled with the ability to do something more, as in push yourself a little bit more, harder and yes, persevere with endurance.

Here are 5 Lessons it taught me about Life, Running and Entrepreneurship: Success and Failures:

  1. Life and Entrepreneurship are Marathons and not a sprint:Life is not fair; get used to it ~ Bill Gates

    That’s right, the only thing we need to be each day is better than what we were 15 minutes ago. Just like when you run a marathon, most of the runners run because they are passionate about it. The only person they compete with is with themselves each and every single time. To outperform their own timing, to get more fit, to enjoy the process more each and every single time. You can’t rush into a marathon or an endurance running sport and expect to last or survive. Go with a pace that makes you feel comfortable. Work with what you have as your own set of skills, qualities, etc in a way that helps you do better every time. Remember, each and every time we focus on how we are doing rather than focusing on how someone else’s life is or routine is or skills are etc. we get better minute by minute. It’s not about comparison, rather, be it life or entrepreneurship, it’s about focusing on a goal because it gives you immense joy as you see yourself getting closer to that dream and vision each day. So, enjoy and keep going.

  2. Ups and Downs:

    It isn’t the mountains ahead to climb that wear you out; it’s the pebble in your shoe. Muhammad Ali

    Due to my continuous travel, work schedules, etc I could not plan running in a gym or on a treadmill since my timing for running every single day including the location where I was most of the days were different. I did not run at a set time, rather, I ran every time I could take time out. Sometimes, it was crack of dawn and sometimes late at nights. Similarly, since I am travelling most of the time, I do not frequent running at the same location. I have run across cities, across locations and most of the times, the route I take are also very different. I pick locations that have a combination of flat roads, concrete pathways, (they are all footpaths to ensure safety) but yes, there are also rough terrains in open land areas, there are flyovers or over bridge type of locations and many areas wherein the roads are hilly and have high inclination. These keep pushing me to adapt to different running techniques, combination to slow down, walk, jog at times and then keep running again.
    Just like Life or Entrepreneurship. No two days are the same, in fact, as an entrepreneur, you might experience a ton of experiences that are happy, sad, confusing, pressurizing, dealing with people, tasks, that take a toll on you, both mentally and physically etc and all of this in a single day. So while running, I ensure to pick roads that are not similar and such that it makes me constantly adapt in a way that suits my style, ensures my delivery with discipline and goals, but at the same time, takes care of the fact that I do not compromise in any way as in, I do not follow steps or push myself just because I have to, rather because it’s the right thing to do. For eg. in business, you might come across professionals who are a part of a larger conglomerate or brand or are themselves reputable. But they might not be the right set of professionals whom you want to do business with. May be they lack a discipline, may be they are low on ethics or professionalism or just plain obnoxious and rude. The point is, you need to be able to decide each and every time, whether you can work with them and what effect and toll does it take on you, your skills, your time and most importantly your brand. Business are built dime a dozen, but organizations are seldom created. Sometimes, though monetarily or revenue generation wise a business deal might look enticing, but in the long run, it might be a poor business decision as it takes too much out of your bandwidth. Remember, saying NO or slowing down during such times is also a powerful decision and a very important leadership quality of an entrepreneur. So, just like running, life and entrepreneurship too has it’s sets of ups and downs, you just need to know which hills and terrains you need to adapt and keep pushing and which ones you need to give up so as to be able to plan something else, a different strategy, route may be!

  3. Everything comes at a Price:

    Success is no accident. It is hard work, perseverance, learning, studying, sacrifice and most of all, love of what you are doing or learning to do ~ Pele 

    Running such distances consistently, helped me build up great levels of fitness and endurance. Luckily, I am a teetotaler so I did not have to make any special changes in my routine or habits. But, everything comes at a price. Pushing myself each and every time I went out for a run was never easy. Even though I enjoyed running every time, it was sometimes very difficult. Some days, more than the other. May be there were decisions, business or personal, work and or home that has it’s way of taking it’s toll on us. Every single day, I had tasks, work, schedules, travel planned and or pending that needed special focus, attention to detail and by the end of it all, I always used to find asking myself, “May be I can skip today and go tomorrow!”.
    But luckily, for me, I am my own worst critic. So I always used to come up with worst case scenarios which will make it impossible for me to go for a run tomorrow if I did not do it today. So, rather than procrastinating, I went for a run.

    Nothing great or even remotely good ever comes without sacrifices. Look at all the great industry, business and life leaders. They pursued when others might have given up: “Mahatma Gandhi, Muhammad Ali, Bill Gates, Narayana Moorthy, Dhirubhai Ambani, Steve Jobs, Malala Yousafzai, Albert Einstein, Srinivasa Ramanujan, Sachin Tendulkar, Michael Jordan, Michael Schumacher” and the list is endless. It always seems impossible till someone makes it happen.

  4. Keep learning and keep getting inspired:

    Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning stays young. The greatest thing in life is to keep your mind young. Henry Ford 

    For me, when it comes to running, Dean Karnazes,  the Ultra Marathon Man has been a great sense of inspiration and his tweets, replies etc have always been a treasured boost for me and my morale across my fitness running blog series too. It’s important to always keep learning. Dean’s quotes, thoughts, suggestions, tips etc have always gone a long way in understanding running as a passion, as a hobby and a dream for me. 
    His quote – “The Human body has limitations, but the human spirit is boundless” has had a great impact in my routine too.

    So, whether it is life or business or running, it is important to have people who are the best in that industry and try to learn and or follow as much as you can from them. Remember they are the best because they are ready to put in the time, efforts and with the right set of discipline.

    Similarly, the above mentioned life, business and industry leaders have always through their works, books, speeches, etc been a great sense of inspiration for me in my entrepreneurship journey (of Techdivine Creative ServicesBest Digital Agency across Industries and countries and Power packed Top Corporate Training Digital Marketing Social media services company). Remember, whatever has been done in life, can always be done even better. 

     

    Fitness Running Endurance Health Mindfulness Ananth V 500 Kms
    Ananth V Running Fitness Mindfulness

5. Decisions define your destiny: 

It is in the moments of those decisions that your destiny is shaped ~ Tony Robbins

Many times, we decide and act on decisions. But how many of those times do we realize how that decision has impacted our lives, routine, professional life, those around us etc. Each decision defines what you will become as it empowers you to redefine and or redesign or shape your own destiny. 
Running has it’s bane: Simply put:
– You need to do it every day or else you lose your pace, fitness and so much more.
– It is a daunting task to do it every day and to ensure that you run more and better each time. 
– You do it using the right set of tools. Right approach and not resort to using things or drugs in any way that will harm yourself, your body and most importantly, your mind / soul.

Similarly, life and or entrepreneurship has moments every day that are deciding our future based on our decisions take at this very moment. So always ensure to: 

– Never compromise on ethics, values, morals, principles, discipline.

“Be a yardstick of quality. Some people aren’t used to an environment where excellence is expected ~ Steve Jobs”

It’s not enough if you achieve excellence or deliver that one time. Life or business is not about 15 minutes of fame. It’s delivering consistently every single time and doing it even better every time.

It takes endurance and lots of sacrifices to achieve something beyond a routine.

It can be love, relationships, success in personal and or professional lives, career growth and so much more…… It takes efforts! There are no two ways about it.

Remember, in the long run, hard work beats luck every single time. 

Hope you had a refreshing and insightful time reading this. 

Please share your comments and thoughts, would love to hear from all of you.

Have an amazing day ahead.

Be Well

Ananth V

Let’s Connect – Facebook Twitter LinkedInSocial Media Book Learn Digital marketingCorporate Training

One thought on “513 Kms in 5 months – Success and Failure: Life, Running, Entrepreneurship

Leave a Reply

