Using data to decode the FMCG business


How I used “data” to decode the story for the client brand partner in FMCG!

A while ago, the Director Sales of a Fortune 500 FMCG business reached out to me saying they were experiencing a huge dip in sales across a specific state in India as compared to the others and months together of analysis and trials had yielded no results.

fortune 500 fmcg sales corporate training speaker trainer Ananth

When they reached out to me, they asked me to deliver training for their sales team.

I had a call with their sales team but somehow wasn’t convinced that they were the problem. I felt they were doing a great job!

So, I reached out to their Sales head and explained that I need to look at their data before deciding that it was their sales team that needed help as I felt that there was something missing!

I asked them to share their entire process data, and this is how I used that information:

Going beyond metrics:

1) I first looked into the correlation between stores visited by the sales reps and the time spent in each store.

What I found was that few specific areas in that state were taking an unusually long time to stock (3 X more time as compared to others in that state which had the same group of sales rep).

2) The data showed there were both frequent stock-outs and overstocking issues in a specific number of stores within that state.

What I found was that, in those stores, there were a very high number of complaints from customers about both, shelves that had stocks of products that no one was buying and products that they needed but could never get their hands-on?

Trends and patterns: I started noticing patterns wherein these stores had issues when it came to their stocking process. It was no longer about sales training! I shared these insights with their sales head.

Analytics clearly uncovered issues in inefficient logistics and unoptimized routes.

The most important part was, around 22% of the stores in one particular state were causing almost 80% of the problems for that region. It reminded me of the Pareto principle.

By understanding the data properly, I was able to design training programs, work in sync with their logistics, supply chain teams, sales and marketing teams and on-floor teams.

Within a span of eight months, the organisation was able to increase:

– Efficiency in stocking shelves

– Improve product availability for customers

– Reduce customer complaints

– Reduce their carbon footprint by managing supply chain & logistics more efficiently – sustainability

– Increase sales in those regions

– And yes, a much more motivated and productive sales team

Their CFO called me a while ago and said, “Ananthanarayanan V you are a wizard. Great job” and I replied, “Thank you Sir but I just love numbers” 😀

Remember, every data tells a unique story! We just need to know where to look for it.

Ananth V

Let’s connect on: Harvard Business Review Social Media Marketing â€“ Social Media Book– Corporate Training Digital Marketing Social media ROI strategy â€“ Website â€“ Twitter â€“ Harvard Business Review Latest Article Published November 2022 Special Issue Magazine â€“ Published in the Economic Times: ET Brand Equity – Customer centricity for ROI success

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.