Marathon running event in Mumbai


Marathon running event at the Mumbai running and living monsoon half marathon XC

Ananth V Marathon Madness Mumbai Aarey goregaon running and living
Ananth V

“Business is a sprint until you find an opportunity, then it’s the patience of a marathon runner ~ Robert Herjavec”

The above words have resonated in my mind since the day I started my digital marketing and social media creative services agency under the brand name of Techdivine Creative Services in March 2010.

Marathon and running have been something I have always wanted to be a part of, but until recently had never given it a serious thought.

Four months ago, I started running in the streets of Mumbai gearing up for running events across this city. I have in the past few months participated in three running events and my passion for “running” only seems to be budding with each event.

So, I took up running with a discipline and even tracked a total of 300 Kms in the last three to four months during my runs and kept track of the miles, pace, speed etc using the Endomondo app.

Off-late, whenever I get a chance to participate in a running event, I have made sure to sign up as soon as I can.

The most recent running events that I was a part of and about which I have blogged were –

Yesterday I participated in the 10.55 Kms at the 2nd Mumbai Running And Living Monsoon Madness XC Half Marathon.

My first 10.55 Kms run and I clocked it in 75 minutes.

The event was as challenging as I had expected it to be. It was in Aarey milk colony (Near Goregaon) in Mumbai. Being a Mumbaiite all my life, I had a brief idea of what to expect running at that venue.

Aarey mumbai marathon monsoon run Ananth V

The roads were completely rugged with uneven stretches, hilly and with an average ascent & descent of about 250 feet. That coupled with the climate in Mumbai with heat and humidity. There were potholes and rocks through the run which made it all the more challenging, fun and even exciting for my first 10.55K run.

“If you feel bad at 10 miles, you’re in trouble. If you feel bad at 20 miles, you’re normal. If you don’t feel bad at 26 miles, you’re abnormal ~ Rob de Castella.”

At the crack of dawn on 29/06/2014 Sunday I along with few of my friends reached the venue. After a few rounds of stretching and warm up exercises, I was geared up to start the run as my closest companion during my runs, my Puma Mobium shoes were too.

Puma Mobium running Ananth V
Puma Mobium Running

As I ran the first mile in about 8 minutes at the start of the event, I saw the ascent right in front of me. I jogged my memory (pun intended) and the quote by Mike Fanelli came to my mind “I tell our runners to divide the race into thirds. Run the first part with your head, the middle part with your personality, and the last part with your heart.”

That’s exactly what I did as I kept telling myself to clock in a time of 75 minutes (as that was the qualifier for SCM Mumbai run for the event in Mumbai for 2015 January).

Some day soon, with enough practice and running hours clocked in with discipline, I hope to run the full marathon too. Until then I am hoping to be able to sign up for the SCM Mumbai event for the half marathon based on my score on this run.

“When you run the marathon, you run against the distance, not against the time ~ Haile Gebrselassie”

This was my first 10.55 Kms run and I thoroughly enjoyed the ‘humbling experience’ as I saw those way older than me running on the opposite side for their 21k run, cheering and encouraging the runners and the young kids who were running their 5k and 10.55K runs.

That is the best part about such events. Irrespective of how the arrangements were made by the company or brand organizing such events, it’s the participants who make the memories wonderful. They make you realize that it’s not your body, but your mind that is deciding your running spirit at the end of the day.

Marathon Mumbai running Ananth V
10.55 Kms 75 Minutes

“Marathon running, for me, was the most controlled test of mettle that I could ever think of. It’s you against Darwin ~ Ryan Reynolds”

Have a wonderful week ahead & yes, stay fit and keep running!

You can also join me Online: Ananth V on  Facebook – Twitter – LinkedIn – Instagram –Pinterest – Amazon 

Ananth V

Recent Posts: